show showComplete play pause reverse

roll_news roll_accueil roll_contact roll_fb roll_fr

HISTORY AND THE FUTURE

1- The Saint-Bernard Dogs

« Love, Tenderness and Loyalty until the ultimate sacrifice »

 

The Saint Bernard dog has a fantastic history regarding its affection, intelligence and loyalty towards mankind.

Their origins go back to the dawn of time. It is without doubt a race that originates from Asia, probably a descendent of the Tibetan Mastiff. One of the oldest known records dates back to 2,500 years ago, with St Bernard dog being depicted on Assyrian wall etchings. As a result of several wars and commercial trading, these dogs were eventually brought to Europe. During the Roman conquest, they were included in the army, with their very own battle dress. Even Henry VIII of England had 500 dogs equipped with studded collars and used them in a battle against Charles Quant. In the 17th Century, certain Suisse families gave the monks the short haired breed of the St Bernard as guard dogs.  The St Bernard dogs quickly became known as the companions of the monks in the hospices of both the “Grand and Petit Saint Bernard” Passes. Most notably, the dog “Ruitor” was known as the loyal friend of Rector Chanoux at the “Petit St Bernard” Hospice.


Hard working, affectionate and blessed with a remarkable way with people, the St Bernard dogs were trained by the monks in 1750 as rescue dogs to help travelers that were in danger. At this time in history, the pilgrim’s pathway through the mountains was long and full of pitfalls; storms and snow were ever present in this isolated environment; with averages of 10 metres of snow and temperatures of approximately 0.5°c, from November to June of each year. The monks, often accompanied by the dogs, would go in search of the travelers and pilgrims. Gifted with large paws, the dogs could make a path through the fresh snow and with the help of their strong shoulders and natural instinct, they were able to find the people buried under the snow. The wooden barrel attached to their collar, filled with brandy, gave the lost pilgrim the courage to continue their journey towards the hospice.

In 1820, the St Bernard breed was threatened with extinction, with only a single couple remaining at the Grand Bernard Pass Hospice. In 1857 Henry Shumacher attempted to cross the St Bernard breed with a Newfoundland. As a result the long haired St Bernard was born. It was only in 1862, during the World Fair in Birmingham, that these dogs were given their official name “St Bernard”, beforehand they were known as Alpine Mastiff, Barry Dogs or Convent Dogs.

The St Bernard dogs were also companions for the Mountain Infantry, harnessed to a sledge, they were used to pull supplies up to the mountain fortresses; the monks also used the dogs in the same manner. Finally with the destruction of the Petit Saint Bernard hospice during the last war, came the end of an era for the St Bernard dogs.


However in 1960 an enthusiast of the St Bernard dogs, Mr Charles Clément, attempted to settle in the Petit St Bernard Pass with his five dogs but the dilapidated state of the buildings made this impossible. Just a few kilometers from the pass, at the Relais du Petit St Bernard in La Rosière, Mr and Mrs Jean Arpin agreed to start a breeding farm. The breeding farm did well and a number of dogs that were reared there won prestigious dog show prizes:

1968  « Oulette » 1st Prize in Evian
1972  « Sylphide » 1st Prize in La Roche-sur-Foron
1974  « Apollo » World Champion
1975 « Tommy » 1st Prize in Lyon
1976 «  Balz » 1st Prize CACIB in Evian and in Grenoble in 1979.
 
The Legend of Barry

THE LEGEND OF BARRY AND THE 40 RESCUES

As soon as the fog appeared or the snow began to fall, one could see that he would begin to become restless in his kennel; barking and asking to be let out in search of the lost travelers. Barry, who earned the nickname «God’s dog», had a very personal way of saving people. He would dig through the snow furiously with his large paws, whilst barking loudly in order to draw the attention of the rescue teams. Once he had managed to resuscitate the person, who was often unconscious, he would lick their face and turn them over and over again with powerful pushes of the head. If all of these things didn’t work, the dog would sit carefully on the chest of the person in order to keep them warm, taking care not to smother them. Without delay, he would then start to bark in a special way that the monks understood and were not mistaken as to the message he was telling them.

 


One day the monks saw Barry arriving with a young boy on his back. Not only had he dug the boy from the snow and resuscitated him, but he had had the good idea of lying down on his side so that the boy could climb up on his back.


Barry died in 1814 in tragic circumstances. At the time, the deserters of Napoleon’s army often crossed the mountain passes. One of these deserters was taken by surprise by a storm not far from the monastery and was buried under the heavy snow. Barry found him and dug him out of the snow. He then sat carefully on him so as to warm him up. The man slowly came to his senses and thought that Barry was a wolf. He reached for his sword plunged it straight through poor Barry.

In this way Barry died on his own snowy battle ground.

The Association « Barry’s friends »

Now-a-days, the Association « Barry’s friends », exists in order to support the small breeding farm in La Rosière, so as to continue the St Bernard breed and to educate the public about them.

The Montvalezan council, people’s kind donations and the association members’ fees all contribute to the financial funding of the association. This includes daily walks for the dogs with a carer, any treatments required and food.

The dogs are taken on walks two or three times per day, between 30 minutes to an hour.
For further information, please contact us:

ASSOCIATION « Les Amis de BARRY »
Relais du petit St Bernard
73700 La Rosière
Tel. 06.60.69.80.48 (hôtel)
E-Mail : lesamisdebarry @ petit-saint-bernard.com

2- The History of the Hotel: the dream of a local child

In 1927, in the small playground of the public school in the hamlet of Le Crey, a group of 40 boys of all ages heard the sound of the bell which signaled the end of break time. Miss Marie d’Hilaire took the roll call. A little boy of six years old was absent: Jean ARPIN (from the families Stanislas and Colin). Ah! Suddenly the door opened… and who could it be….all flushed in the face and dragging a new pair of skis under his arm…skis made of soft ash wood…carefully crafted by Craftsman Cohendoz des Perrieres. Jean was quickly scolded by Miss d’Hilaire and his skis confiscated!

“That is enough, you are always late Jean, I will cut up these skis and thrown them on the fire!” said Madame d’Hilaire

“The little boy, suddenly feeling attacked about his most precious belonging, began to kick the stunned teacher, he began to shout, scratch and punch and kick furiously. That evening when he returned home, he went to his mother Augustine in search of sympathy for his broken heart. His mother was always calm and able to console him”.           
On 19th June 1989, the day of Jean Arpin’s funeral, a quotation made by his teacher was read from a book written by his wife Hélène Arpin “Le Roman de La Rosière – Montvalezan” and read by the former mayor Jean Pierre Aubonnet. “Jean is late again. We will see soon enough if his ideas were ahead of their time.”

Jean Arpin was fanatical about skiing, just like many children who discovered this new sport which enabled you to glide through the snow and enjoy the beautiful mountain scenery. During many of the experiences that Jean had in his life, he observed the birth of ski resorts, which convinced him of the potential that La Rosière had: a sunny position, an altitude of 1850m with very good levels of snow and at close proximity to Italy. However, the difficult times after the second world war put a stop to such ideas that had begun to grow but did not diminish the reserve of ideas and hope.

Hélène Arpin’s book continues to tell Jean Arpin’s story:  “After the war, in 1946. The first important contacts were made. Jean Arpin often went to Seez to meet Gaston Gaide and one day he began to talk to him about La Rosière and its potential of becoming a ski resort. He also talked about his wish to be the first to build a hotel there”.
No sooner said, than done. Jean Arpin thanked Mr Gaide and thoughtful began to write to Senator Antoine Borrel with warmth and conviction for” his little corner of his birth place, with he felt had such potential for winter and summer tourism.
A warm and encouraging reply from the Savoyard Senator; who had often worked towards the development of his region; did not take long to arrive!

Unfortunately, ten years of fighting ensued, as the news of the war breaking out was just beginning. The correspondences continued. In order to realise his wishes, Jean Arpin and friends decided to go a step further. They went to Montvalezan accompanied by J. Gaidet, at the time of “All Saints” in 1946. That morning, all of the villagers who came to the church mass were able to read a notice that was put up in front of the Mayor’s office, signed by Jean Arpin. It was an invitation to all regarding an important public meeting with the idea of creating a tourism information office. Approximately fifty women and men were very interested in the project. Jean Arpin shared his thoughts and ideas with them, explaining and voicing the wishes of all.

 

“La Rosière has all of the advantages to help create a resort that will allow the youngsters to stay and work in their own region”. Having experienced hard and difficult times in the past, he insisted strongly about this essential point. So that the families were no longer separated and could live together happily in their beautiful villages spread out under the long rays of sunshine and the mighty alpine storms.
 A committee was set up. Jean Arpin could not accept the role of president because he lived in a different region at the time. The role therefore fell to Séraphin Maitre, an enthusiastic follower from the start. This was the start of an interesting fight that filled hearts with hope, made eyes bright and animated many a discussion.  Through the ‘rose coloured’ atmosphere the toasting of glasses reflected a brighter future.


In 1947, the president of the Sporting Club in Montvalezan for 4 years, Jean Baptiste Gaidet, added his support to Jean Arpin:
 “Due to his initiative, tournaments and competitions were organised. I highlight his great devotion to this cause and to others which he has given his assistance. With such a good understanding in existence, an opening began to form at this time regarding the possibility of winter and summer tourism.   (Tributes to J.ARPIN)

And Jean wrote to Jean “Come quickly and do something in Montvalezan. We could really do with a small hotel. It became apparent to me this winter, during the competitions that were held here that we needed to find rooms and cook for all of the competitors.” (A.P : Letter from 14-3-47)
The First ‘Relais’

The impetus was given and in 1953 an urban plan was put in place with 33 plots for building and a road. Hélène Arpin explains how the hotel came to be:


Now it was important to find buyers that were ready and able to invest in La Rosière’s hotels and businesses.


1954 Jean Arpin was the first to take part. He had chosen an area near to the main road. Disaster! The plans for the road that would lead to the building lots cut straight through the area he had in mind and ruined his idea. He then asked the Mairie if he could build just north of the road on the edge of the forest; where the tennis courts are placed today. This area was not a designated plot, his request was refused, obviously! (A.P)

Never mind! Let’s look further, towards Manessier. The view from there is great, the area seems welcoming but the ground is marshy. Let’s confront this! There is a choice to be made: above or below the road? Hélène suggests: that a dominant terrace would drawn more attention and the customers would be entertained by the activity of the road. The die is cast! We feel like the first migrants in the Wild West of America.  


No time to lose. The land is exchanged for another which the family own. In the Springtime, the stones that are needed are excavated from an open quarry at the top of the Lièvre Blanc slope. For the previous miner, it is as easy as child’s play. The brother, Maurice Arpin and Jean his lifelong friend, both came to work with Jean. The foundations are dug by Placide Fudral and his son Charles, the walls follow quickly afterwards! Wooden panels are recovered from old chalets in the villages and transported to La Rosière for the hotel. They are then once again laid out as flooring and ceilings. Serge Arpin from the factory builds a solid roof that withstands the snow and the passing of time!


Jean devotes every Thursday and Sunday of that Autumn: cleaning the walls, the floors, fitting a fireplace and an external staircase. During the lonely winter evenings, Hélène paints decorative frames for the walls, sews red and white check style curtains. She dreams of a cosy interior without the walls full of advertising posters. A number of other decorative objects complete the interior décor and the customers are fascinated, so much so that they are distracted from the wait for their room. One even comments “It’s a real museum here! »

The Second ‘Relais’ and the first winter for the resort of La Rosière.

At the same moment that La Rosière plans to become a resort (contacting the chairlift companies, planning the road, connecting electrical and water supplies), Jean adds a second building in stone to his cabin : The Second ‘Relais’. With this additional building they can accommodate more guests such as weddings, music evenings, meetings etc. Jean never missed out on the chance to sing his favourite song “O Montagnards, Montagnards”


1960/61 - The opening of the resort for La Rosière, with the ski lift ‘La Poletta’ and the first winter season for Le Relais du Petit St Bernard. The bar and the restaurant are regrouped together, the ski technician on the ground floor (Jean Gaidet for 40 winters) and the ski school with Alfred Possoz, the first ski instructor in La Rosière. These spaces were all let to them free of charge by the owner who wanted to encourage the youth of the day. The beginning was difficult for all as the tourist levels were low to start with but the idea of skiing began to take off and enabled the resort to welcome other inhabitants. They were mainly the local people but also those who had fallen under the charm of the place.

The Third Relais

During the Summer and Autumn of 1973, the building firm ‘Perrière’ from Macot and various others, began to build the third ‘Relais’ du Petit St Bernard, with the assistance of the architect Guy Davoise from Seez. The first floor was finished and opened by Christmas. The finishes, paneling, ceilings, walls, bar, furniture, ski-room and fireplace had the finishing touches put to them and decorated by local artists. Jean Arpin was always keen to have Montvalezan workmanship in his establishment over the thirty years of being an employer.


The hotel’s grounds, were also carefully groomed: the fields and banks surrounding the hotel were cleared of stones, grass seed sown and tended to, marsh channels were emptied, flowers beds and plants were decorated with stone borders. It was all lovingly cared for with even the car park area washed and brushed and multi-coloured flowers that lined the terrace.
The next generation : Germain Arpin and his wife Lulu, who had the ‘green fingers’ of the family, began to welcome the guests with particular attention given to the splendid floral and plant displays, that were admired by all, throughout the Winter and Summer.


When Jean Arpin died in 1989, the family business was divided up, after a fashion. The eldest brother Raymond Arpin kept the oldest part of the building « The Bar » which he later extended to include a pizza/ buffet style restaurant and some apartments. He gave the business the name of ‘Mac Kinley’. The eldest sister Annie Arpin became the owner of the second Relais, which she later gave to her younger brother Germain, so that he could build his own chalet: The Shatzi, a tourism residence.

Germain and Lulu Arpin had already started to do some work in the third Relais and built a snack-bar called Le Milieu/ The Middle, a friendly place where people could eat at midday.

The Future Projects

In 2012, there are now three different businesses which are managed by different people and it is hoped that this will allow the global business to flourish. With new laws concerning accessibility, security and energy savings the business is motivated to carry out a sustainable renovation project. In 2009, a thermal energy study was carried out with the idea of taking part in a regional project concerning ‘low energy use model buildings’. In spite of the assistance that is available for a renovation of this type, there are many associated constraints with the project as well as considerable costs. We could not take part in the regional project, but the study gave us good guidelines regarding energy savings and all of our future building plans will take these into consideration.  After many consultations, it was decided that along with a renovation and aesthetic improvement of the current rooms, there would be an extension made to include larger family rooms and two rooms adapted for guests in wheelchairs, a new lounge area and a more spacious breakfast room. A lift would also be added which would start at the ground floor, for all floors of the hotel.


Always keeping the ideas of sustainability and quality central to all our plans, we use the Label HQE (Optimal Environmental Quality) and its conditions in mind for all future planning. This enables us to choose natural materials, to improve the performance of each category considered in the HQE label: sustainable building, comfort, health and sustainable management. It is a complicated process but it allows us to be guided so as not to forget important points. Taking into consideration the associated costs, it will be a plan for the long term but for the sustainable future.

show showComplete play pause reverse

roll_news roll_accueil roll_contact roll_fb roll_uk
HISTOIRE & AVENIR
1- Les Chiens Saint-Bernard

« Amour, Tendresse et dévouement jusqu’à l’ultime Sacrifice »

 

Le Saint Bernard est un chien au passé glorieux, apprécié pour son affection, sa fidélité, son intelligence et son dévouement envers l’homme.

Ses origines lointaines se perdent dans la nuit des temps. Il est sans doute originaire de l’Asie, descendant du dogue du Tibet, la plus ancienne trace se trouve sur un bas-relief Assyrien datant de 2500 ans. C’est au cours de guerres et d’échanges commerciaux que ces chiens furent amenés en Europe. Lors de la conquête Romaine, ils font partie de l’armée, dressés pour l’attaque. Henry VIII d’Angleterre lance 500 chiens équipés de colliers à pointes contre Charles QUINT. Aux XVIIè siècle, des notables Suisses donnent quelques spécimens à poils courts aux moines pour assurer leur garde. Les chiens St- Bernard deviennent alors les compagnons des moines du Grand et petit St- Bernard, notamment « Ruitor» qui fut le fidèle ami du  recteur Chanoux à l’hospice du Petit  St- Bernard.

Très résistant, affectueux, doté d’un flair remarquable le chien St- Bernard sera dressé par les moines vers 1750 pour le sauvetage des voyageurs en péril. A cette époque, la route du pèlerin est longue et semée d’embûches, la tempête et la neige font rage dans ces lieux complètement isolés, car il tombe en moyenne 10 mètres de neige par an, s’étalant de novembre à début juin, et la température moyenne actuelle oscille aux environs de +0,5°. Les moines, accompagnés des chiens, partent souvent à la recherche des voyageurs. Dotés de larges pattes, les chiens font la trace dans la neige fraîche, s’aidant de leur poitrail ; grâce à leur flair, ils fouillent et retrouvent les personnes ensevelies dans la neige. Le tonneau rempli d’eau de vie accroché au cou du chien redonne vigueur aux pèlerins pour terminer le chemin qui mène à l’hospice.

En 1820, la race est menacée d’extinction, un seul couple subsiste à l’hospice du Grand St- Bernard. En 1857 Henry Shumacher tente alors de croiser ce chien avec le Terre neuve. C’est l’apparition du St- Bernard à poils long. C’est en 1862 lors de l’exposition de Birmingham que ces chiens prennent officiellement l’appellation de « St Bernard » ; auparavant on les nommait « Mastiffs Alpins, Chiens Barry ou chiens du Couvent ». Ces chiens accompagnaient aussi les chasseurs alpins, attelés à une luge, pour le ravitaillement des forts de montagne ; les moines pratiquaient de même. La destruction de l’hospice durant la dernière guerre amène la disparition des chiens du col du Petit St- Bernard.

Mais en 1960, M. Charles Clément passionné par les St- Bernard tente de s’installer au col avec ses cinq chiens, la vétusté des lieux ne le permet pas. C’est à quelques kilomètres de là, au Relais du Petit St- Bernard, à la Rosière que MM. Et Mme Arpin Jean acceptent de fonder avec lui un élevage de ces chiens. L’élevage prospère, de nombreux chiens sont primés lors des expositions canines :

_ 1968  « Oulette » 1er prix à Evian
_ 1972  « Sylphide » 1er prix à la Roche-sur-Foron
_  1974  « Apollo » sera sacré Champion du Monde
_ 1975 « Tommy » 1er prix à Lyon
_ 1976 «  Balz » obtient le 1er prix CACIB à Evian et à Grenoble en 1979 .

 
La légende de Barry

LA LEGENDE DE BARRY  AUX QUARANTE SAUVETAGES

Dés l’approche du brouillard ou dès que la neige commençait à tomber, on le voyait, paraît-il, s’agiter dans le chenil de l’hospice du Grand St- Bernard ; aboyant, montrant par là son désir de partir à la recherche des voyageurs égarés. Barry, l’une de ces bêtes que l’on appelait un « Chien de Dieu », avait une méthode personnelle de sauvetage : Fouillant vigoureusement la neige avec ses pattes, il donnait en même temps de la voix pour attirer l’équipe de secours. Lorsqu’il avait mis à jour son client inanimé souvent, il lui léchait la figure, le tournait et le retournait avec de grands coups de tête pour le rappeler à la vie. Si ce traitement de choc ne réussissait pas, le chien se plaçait alors sur la poitrine de l’homme pour essayer de le réchauffer, en prenant bien soin de ne pas l’étouffer. Et aussitôt, il se mettait à aboyer d’une manière très particulière, les moines connaissaient ce code, ils ne s’y trompaient point.

 


Un jour l’on vit arriver Barry avec un jeune garçon sur son dos. Non seulement il l’avait dégagé de la neige, ranimé, mais il avait eu l’idée de se coucher à ses côtés de manière à permettre à l’adolescent de grimper sur son échine.

Barry mourut en 1814 dans de tragiques circonstances. A cette époque, des déserteurs des armées napoléoniennes traversaient assez souvent les cols. L’un d’eux fut surpris par une tempête aux abords du monastère, et il fut bientôt enseveli sous l’amas de neige. Barry le découvrit, le dégagea et pour le réchauffer, se coucha sur lui. L’homme reprenant ses sens, cru avoir à faire à un loup. Il tira son sabre et transperça la pauvre bête.

Barry succomba ainsi au champ d’honneur qui ne pouvait être pour lui qu’un champ de neige….

L’association « Les amis de BARRY »

Actuellement, une association « Les amis de Barry » a pour but de maintenir un petit élevage à la Rosière afin de perpétuer  la race et de faire connaître les chiens St Bernard au public.

La commune de Montvalezan, les  dons et adhésions des membres contribuent financièrement au fonctionnement de la structure (sorties quotidiennes, soins, alimentations).

Les chiens sont en sortie extérieure deux à trois fois par jours, de ½ heure à une heure.

Pour tout renseignement, vous pouvez nous contacter :
ASSOCIATION « Les Amis de BARRY »
Relais du petit St Bernard
73700 La Rosière
Tel. 06.60.69.80.48 (hôtel)
E-Mail : lesamisdebarry [at] petit-saint-bernard.com

2- L’Histoire de l’hôtel : le rêve d’un enfant du pays

Dans la petite cour de l’école publique du CREY qui accueillait vers 1927, une quarantaine de garçons de tous âges, Mademoiselle Marie d’Hilaire donne le signal de la rentrée terminant la récréation du matin. Un petit garçon de 6 ans manque à l’appel: Jean ARPIN de Stanislas, dit aussi de COLIN, prénom de son grand père. Ah! le voilà qui pousse la porte et pénètre en classe, congestionné, traînant sous son bras sa paire de skis tout neufs, en souple frêne du pays, confectionnée avec amour par un ancien du pays et voisin, Ariste COHENDOZ, des PERRIERES. L’institutrice gronde en se saisissant des skis.

« En voilà assez, toujours du Retard, je vais les scier et les jeter au feu!


Et l’enfant, brusquement agressé dans son trésor le plus cher, se rue sur la maîtresse abasourdie, hurle, griffe et frappe à coups de pieds et de poings. Le soir venu en rentrant au logis, il soulage son coeur déchiré auprès de sa maman Augustine, douce et consolatrice » …

« Jean est encore en retard. On verra bientôt quelle avance il avait au niveau des idées »  Extrait du livre de Hélène ARPIN épouse de Jean ARPIN « Le roman de La Rosière-Montvalezan de A  et  Z » et Texte repris par Jean-Pierre AUBONNET ancien Maire dans son Hommage à J. ARPIN, le jour de la sépulture, le 19 Juin 1989.

Jean ARPIN était un passionné de ski comme beaucoup d’enfants qui découvraient le plaisir de la glisse ainsi que cette joie de parcourir la montagne et ses paysages magnifiques. Durant ses multiples expériences, Jean observera la naissance des stations de ski, cela lui confirmera le potentiel du site de La Rosière : l’ensoleillement maximum, une altitude de 1850m  avec un très bon enneigement, la proximité de l’Italie, mais la période douloureuse de la 2ème guerre Mondiale stoppa les projets qui commençaient à germer mais ne vida pas le réservoir d’espoir et d’idées.

Hélène nous raconte à nouveau l’après guerre : 1946. Le premier contact est établi. J.A rencontre souvent, à Séez, Gaston GAIDE et, un beau jour lui parle de la Rosière susceptible de devenir aussi une station de sports d’hiver; tout en insistant sur son désir de faire le premier pas en y construisant un hôtel.

Sitôt dit, sitôt fait. J.A remercie vivement Monsieur GAIDE (Archive Personnelle) et s’empresse d’écrire au Sénateur Antoine BORREL (A.P) plaidant avec chaleur et conviction pour « son petit coin de pays natal, bien propice au tourisme estival et hivernal ». (A.P)

La réponse encourageante et chaleureuse du Sénateur Savoyard qui a tant œuvré pour le développement de son pays, ne se fait pas attendre.

Hélas ! Dix ans de lutte seront nécessaires, car le “nerf de la guerre” n’est pas au rendez-vous. Les courriers se poursuivent. Afin de concrétiser ces désirs, J.A et ses amis décident d’aller plus loin. Ils se rendent en compagnie de J. GAIDET à Montvalezan, aux environs de la Toussaint 1946. Dès le matin, les villageois qui se rendent à la messe peuvent lire une affiche placardée en bonne place devant la mairie, signé J.ARPIN. C’est une invitation à participer à une réunion importante en vue de la création d’un Syndicat d’Initiative. Une cinquantaine de femmes et d’hommes y répondent avec grand intérêts. J.A leur fait part de ses intentions, explique, exprime les souhaits de tous.

 

« La Rosière possède tous les atouts pour assister au développement d’une station qui permettrait aux jeunes de travailler sur place, dans leur pays ». Fort des expériences douloureuses du passé, c’est sur ce point essentiel qu’il insiste énergiquement. Que les familles ne se dispersent plus et vivent rassemblées et heureuses dans leurs villages harmonieux essaimés sous le soleil cascadant longuement ses rayons ou sous les tempêtes amies vertigineuses.

Un bureau est élu. J.ARPIN ne pouvant accepter la présidence, car résidant à Hauteluce, elle échoit à Séraphin MAITRE, un converti actif de la première heure. Un combat fascinant s’engage, l’espoir gonfle les cœurs, les yeux brillent, les conversations bruyantes vont bon train. A travers le chatoiement ambré ou violine des verres miroite un avenir meilleur.

1947 : Voici le soutien de Jean Baptiste GAIDET élu président de l’U.S.M durant 4 ans.

« Sous son impulsion, challenges et concours ont été organisés. Je souligne son grand dévouement à cette cause et à d’autres auxquelles il a apporté son concours. Cette bonne entente régnant, a favorisé l’éclosion, à l’époque, d’une possibilité de tourisme estival et hivernal ». (Hommages de J.ARPIN)

Et Jean écrit à Jean : « Viens vite faire quelque chose à Montvalezan. Car vraiment, il nous manque un petit hôtel. Je m’en suis rendu compte cet hiver, pour les concours, quand il nous a fallu trouver des chambres et faire la cuisine pour les coureurs ». (A.P : Lettre du 14-3-47)

Le premier Relais

L’impulsion est donnée et c’est un 1953 que sera mis en place un plan d’urbanisme avec 33 lots de part et d’autre de la route. Hélène ARPIN nous raconte comment l’hôtel a trouvé son emplacement :

Il s’agit maintenant de dénicher des acquéreurs susceptibles d’investir à la Rosière en hôtels, commerces etc… .

1954 J.A est le premier partant. Il avait choisi un emplacement en bordure de la Nationale. Raté ! Le tracé de la route qui dessert le lotissement, le coupe et ruine ses espérances. Il présente une demande en Mairie pour construire au Nord de la route en bordure de forêt, à l’emplacement du tennis n°3 actuel. Le terrain n’étant pas loti, c’est refusé, évidement! (A.P)

Bon, qu’à cela ne tienne. Regardons plus loin , vers Manessier. La vue y est dégagée, le plateau accueillant, mais le terrain marécageux. On fera face! Un choix reste à décider : à l’amont ou à l’aval de la route? Hélène suggère : une terrasse dominante attirera plus les regards et les clients se divertiront de l’animation de la route. Le sort en est jeté. On pense aux pionniers migrateurs dans l’Ouest américain.

Pas de temps à perdre. Le terrain est échangé contre un autre de la propriété familiale. Durant le printemps, des pierres sont extraites d’une carrière ouverte au sommet de la piste du Lièvre Blanc. Pour l’ancien mineur, c’est un jeu d’enfant. Le frère Maurice ARPIN et Jean le copain de toujours, deviennent les gais compagnons de travail. Les tranchées des fondations sont creusées par Placide FUDRAL et son fils Charles, les murs montés rapidement. Les panneaux du chalet bois, ramené du village du chantier de la Girotte, dormait dans la grange du chalet de la Rosière (vieux village). Les voilà à nouveau dressés au soleil ou étalés en plancher ou plafond. Serge ARPIN de la fabrique, construit un toit solide qui défie la neige et les ans.


On lui consacre tous les jeudis et tous les dimanches d’automne : lessiver les parois, les plancher, installer la cheminée ; l’escalier extérieur. Durant ses veillées solitaires d’hiver Hélène peint des cadres décoratifs, coud des rideaux à carreaux blancs et rouges. Elle rêve d’un intérieur coquet et non des parois d’affichage publicitaire. De nombreux objets complèteront la décoration et les clients intéressés, le nez en l’air oublieront l’attente, s’il y a, et remarqueront : « c’est un vrai musée chez vous » !

Le deuxième, et le premier hiver pour la station de La Rosière

En même temps que se prépare la création de la station (contact avec les sociétés de remontées mécaniques, tracé de la route, électrification, adduction d’eau), Jean ajoute à sa cabane un deuxième édifice en pierre : « le deuxième Relais ». Celui-ci permet d’accueillir multiples invités tels que mariages, soirées animées à l’accordéon, réunions et autres. Jean ne manquait pas de chanter « ô Montagnards ô Montagnards …. »

1960/61 Ce sera l’ouverture de la station de La Rosière avec le téléski de « La Poletta » et la première saison d’hiver pour le Relais du petit St Bernard. Il regroupera Le Bar, Le Restaurant, Le ski man au rez-de-chaussée (Jean GAIDET durant quatre hivers), l’école de ski avec Alfred POSSOZ le premier moniteur de la Rosière. Le tout prêté bénévolement par le patron qui a à cœur d’encourager les jeunes. Les débuts seront tout de même difficiles car la fréquentation touristique reste faible mais le ski va prendre un essor considérable et permettre à un certains nombre de s’installer. Ce seront des gens du pays mais aussi des amoureux du site.

Le troisième Relais

Durant l'été et l'automne 1973, l'entreprise Perrière de Macôt et diverses autres, construisent le 3ème Relais du Petit Saint Bernard (architecte Guy DAVOISE, de Séez), le premier étage ouvre à Noël. Les finitions, boiseries, plafonds, parois, bar, meubles, ski-room, cheminée, seront par la suite fignolés, décorés sur place, par des artisans du pays, J.A. ayant à coeur d'employer, durant trente ans, la main d'oeuvre Montvalezannaise, en qualité d'employeur occasionnel.

L'environnement de l'hôtel mobilise aussi ses efforts attentifs : prés et talus nettoyés de leurs pierres, engazonnés et fauchés, rigoles des marécages creusées, bordures de fleurs vivaces et massifs fleuris entourés de pierres, amoureusement entretenus, parkings lavés, balayés, jardinières multicolores soulignant la terrasse.

Lulu, à la main verte, et Germain ARPIN, les hôtes accueillants du Relais offrent à notre admiration, été comme hiver une splendide décoration verte et florale.

Au décès de Jean ARPIN en 1989, l’entreprise familiale sera partagée tant bien que mal. Le grand frère Raymond ARPIN gardera la partie la plus ancienne « Le Bar » qu’il agrandira plus tard pour créer une grande salle de Self/Pizzeria et des appartements. Il donnera le nom de « Mac Kinley » à son commerce. La grande sœur Annie ARPIN sera propriétaire du deuxième Relais qu’elle cédera plus tard à Germain « le petit frère », afin de créer son propre bâtiment : « Le SCHATZI », une résidence de tourisme. Germain ARPIN et Lulu ayant déjà œuvré dans le 3ème Relais garderont cette partie et créeront dans « Le milieu » (2ème Relais) un Bar/Snack convivial pour le casse croute du midi.

Les projets

En 2012, ce sont maintenant trois commerces séparés qui sont gérés actuellement par des responsables différents et c’est un virage que doit prendre l’évolution de cette entreprise. En effet, les nouvelles normes accessibilités et de sécurité, l’économie d’énergie, nous amène à imaginer un projet durable de rénovation qui tiendrait compte de toutes les contraintes du moment. En 2009, nous avons commencé par une étude thermique du bâtiment avec l’idée de s’inscrire dans un appel à projet de région « bâtiment démonstrateurs à basse consommation d’énergie ». Malgré les aides qui peuvent être attribuées, en rénovation, les contraintes sont très importantes et le coût aussi. Cette étude nous permet tout de même d’avoir une ligne directrice en matière d’économie d’énergie et tous les futurs travaux entrepris tiendront compte de cette analyse. Après multiples concertation, il a été retenu en plus d’une rénovation/amélioration esthétique des chambres actuelles, un projet d’extension haute, qui engloberait de grandes chambres familiale et les deux chambres adaptées à l’handicap, un salon qui est inexistant actuellement ainsi qu’une salle de petits déjeuners plus spacieuse. Un ascenseur partant du niveau de la route desservirait tous les étages.

Toujours dans l’esprit de durabilité et de qualité, nous gardons en toile de fond les exigences du label HQE (haute qualité environnementale). Ceci nous amène a choisir des matériaux naturels, d’améliorer la performance dans chaque groupe que comporte le Label : L’éco-construction, le confort, la santé et l’éco-gestion. Le processus est plutôt compliqué mais nous permet d’être guidé afin de ne pas oublier certains points. Compte tenu des coûts, cela se construira sur du long terme mais s’inscrira dans un développement durable.